Beer Review: Ridgeway Brewing of Oxfordshire Blue

SOUTH of the border this time for a bottle of beer from Oxford. This one is called Blue and it’s from Ridgeway Brewing of Oxfordshire.
Ridgeway Blue bottle

I usually ignore the neck label when in the shop, so it wasn’t until I got home that I noticed this…
Ridgeway Brewing of Oxfordshire Blue neck label

It turns out that this won ‘best beer’ at the Tesco ‘brewing awards’. That makes this the second I’ve tried, with Broughton Champion Double Ale was the first Tesco winner I tried. And very good it was too. This upshot of which is that I now have higher than usual expectations going into this one.

The front label is round. And features mainly blue text. I’d describe what the illustration is of. But I can’t tell what it’s supposed to be. Can you?
Ridgeway Brewing of Oxfordshire Blue front label

The bottom edge of the label has their address. The full address. Post code and everything. And that’s unusual, as the address normally goes on the back label. It does prove that this one comes from South Stoke in Oxfordshire however. Also down there, in tiny writing is “Alc 5% vol.” It’s so small, you’d think they were trying to hide that fact.

Either side of the roundel are a couple of facts. On the left, it says “whole leaf hops”. And on the right, “maris otter malt”. How that will affect the taste, we’ll find out soon enough. If you think you can explain what it means, do by all means leave a comment at the end of the post.

The first thing that jumps out at you on the back label is the “CAMRA says this is real ale”. That’s not something I’ve seen on any other bottle I’ve reviewed so far, and it’s a welcome sight. Always good to know that the Campaign for Real Ale gives it’s approval to something, so that clueless drinkers, like me, can enjoy with one less thing to worry about.
Ridgeway Brewing of Oxfordshire Blue back label

Ridgeway open the rear label with some marketing speak about sharing this bottle or drinking it at a barbeque. Fortunately, they have some useful advice in there too, in the form of a description of what the drink will be like. As always, that’s immensely helpful, as it gives me something with which to judge the success of the drink. This one includes words such as “distinctively hoppy”, “lively” and “refreshing”.

They also suggest “drinking cold”. Whether they mean that the bottle should be cold, or that you should drink while feeling cold is unclear. Assuming they mean that the bottle is the one that should be cold, the include a nice touch underneath it in brackets saying that it’s not compulsory. I like that sort of touch.

The, the label goes on to explain something really rather interesting. And something I’ve met before without realising it. You see, Ridgeway helpfully explain what “Bottle Conditioned” is all about. It turns out, that live yeast sediment goes into the bottle, so that it can ferment some more while it waits for you to open it. And that all Ridgeway beers are bottles that way because it makes the flavour “brighter” and “fresher”. I’m not sure about those two adjectives, but I do know that Hoegaarden does something similar, and that it is one of the best I’ve ever had. And yes, looking closely into the bottle, you can see some of that yeast sediment. There go my expectations up a few more notches. Not just for Blue but for all Ridgeway bottles.

Down to the small print, and this is a moderately priced, 500 millilitre bottle from my local Tesco. It contains malted barley. And the web address given on the bottle is www.ridgewaybrewery.co.uk. Which doesn’t work. Why do so many bottles feature web addresses that are wrong or go to sites that aren’t there? Come on chaps. You’re making bottles of beer for Tesco now. Not just for the county fair.

In a glass, it has a thin head. And yes, while pouring, a small lump of that yeast sediment plopped in. The colour is a cloudy dark gold. And the smell is… quite nice. It smells almost citrusy. But I could be wrong about that. There’s definitely something ‘clean’ and ‘fresh’ about the way it smells. You’ll also pick up hints of the malt, hops and yeast that are in there too, if you sniff hard enough.
Ridgeway Brewing of Oxfordshire Blue in a glass

First thing that hits me is the smoothness. Then the light and palatable bitterness. And a taste and aftertaste of hops and yeast. If you don’t have ale very often, and want to try something that typifies the entire category of drink, this is looking like a good choice.

What else can I say about it? Well, it’s not to gassy. It’s easy to drink, being inoffensive to all but the most beer averse taste buds. And you needn’t worry about the sediment. This is not like drinking orange juice with bits, if that’s something that worries you. Instead, it’s more a smooth cranberry juice, of a beer. Refreshing, but with a sharp bitterness.

Towards the end of the bottle, and I’m growing to quite like Blue. It’s something you’d probably have with a pub meal. But it’s nor without its problems. I like ales to have character and complexity. But Blue is lacking both. The tastes and flavours are straightforward. It does what it does, very well, but ‘best beer’ award winning? I’m not entirely sure.

I liked Ridgeway Blue enough to want to try Ridgeway‘s other bottles. In fact, I will definitely be looking out for them on the shelves. This is a good, decent, quality, solid ale. But it just couldn’t reach my lofty expectations. It’s still worth your money trying though.

Rating: 3.5

Have you tried Ridgeway Blue or any other Ridgeway beers? Let the world know your thoughts and opinions in the comment box below.
Also any ideas for what you think I should review next.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Beer Review: Ridgeway Brewing of Oxfordshire Blue”

  1. Paul Garrard Says:

    I love this beer, I reviewed it on my blog a while back. What impressed me, and I’ve had a few bottles now, was the way the sediment clung to the bottom of the bottle. The mass of flavours also impressed me, I thought it was quite a complex beer, in fact I’d say it is the best raib I’ve ever tasted. I contacted the brewer about his website and he said he was just so busy with the business of actually selling beer that he had not had time to sort his site!

    Please note that the Camra RAIB logo just confirms the fact that it’s a live bottle conditioned beer and in no way approves the quality.

    For more info on real ale go to http://www.realalenet.co.uk

    You mention ‘Hoegaarden’. I assume you are referring to Hoegaarden Wit, as they do brew more interesting beers. Assuming that it was ‘Wit’ have you tried any German wheat beers? If not give them a go as they will knock Hoegaarden Wit into a cocked hat.

    Anyway keep those beer reviews coming.

  2. George Slater Says:

    How do I rate a beer? Very good / Okay / Poor , and Ridgeway Blue falls into my ‘ very good ‘ category. I`m not interested in the science; I just like the flavour, and it`s a decent strength beer. It combines the benefits of a good quality ale and lager.My only problem is I cannot find a stockist. My local Tesco no longer stocks it. Anyone know where I can buy it? Does the brewery have a sales outlet?

  3. Lori Says:

    Would like to know if anyone could tell me if there is an American value established on a bottle of “Lump of Coal-Dark Holiday Stout” that was purchased overseas as a gift and if so, what the value might be or whom i could contact in the US that might know.

  4. reality check Says:

    Does this brewery really brew the beer in south Oxfordshire has the company got there own brewery I dont think so, could someone tell me

  5. frank brand Says:

    I’m from oxford will have to try see if I can get one of these and try it out one day.

  6. Mark Haddock Says:

    The website is now live and all Ridgeway beers are now available through http://www.greatbritishbeerco.co.uk

Leave a Reply

