Beer Review: Starij Melnik Gold

BAD news for fans of high-brow British and European ale. I’ve got my hands on another obscure Russian lager. Still, that’s good news for fans of unusual East-European beers. It’s also a chance to re-try something I haven’t had since my gap-year travels when it looked like this…

Old Starij Melnik bottle in Siberia, Russia

From local East-European wonderland, Russkij Bazar, here is a bottle of what I think is called Starij Melnik Gold. Self-evidently priced at £1.65 pence.

Starij Melnik Gold bottle

First impressions are of how different it looks to the one I had in Siberia. If you know the difference between the Gold I have here and the other one I tried, do please leave a message in the comments section at the end of this post.

Second impressions are that they’ve put effort into it. Have a look at these grips. Should your bottle be wet, or your drunkenness highly advanced, it won’t slip from your grasp as easily.

Starij Melnik Gold bottle grips

The side-effect is that the back label small-print has been squished into a crowded neck-label.

Starij Melnik Gold  left neck labelStarij Melnik Gold middle neck labelStarij Melnik Gold right neck label

After pouring over it with an electron microscope, I’ve been able to glean some facts. The ingredients are “water, barley malt, glucose syrup with malt sugar (wheat, maize), hops” and it is “pasturized”. It has an alcoholic volume of 5.2%. And, unhelpfully, it has the web-address of www.monolith-gruppe.eu. Unhelpful because it’s no longer obvious where Starij Melnik Gold comes from. The Italian language section mentions a Moscow based Efes Moscow Brewery, but the word “imported” is proving elusive. Leave a comment if you can shed some light on this mystery.

Starij Melnik Gold front label

Translators, do you thing in the comments section! As labels go, this one is basic. The imitation stamp in the corner says something about tradition. And I’m not entirely sure that the name translation on the label is correct. On the neck label, it translates the name as Starij Melnik Gold. But the first word, I’m nearly fairly sure, it more like “Smarij”, not “Starij”. Translators, what is going on here?

And because that’s all I can translate, it’s the end the boring description bit. What does Starij Melnik Gold taste like? How does it compare to other lagery beers and should you bother buying it? Let’s twist open the bottle top and write some opinionated hyperbole.

In a pint glass, this fridge cooled bottle of Starij Melnik Gold looks much like any other lager. The long neck of the bottle makes it almost impossible to pour without glugging, so you end up with a head that somehow completely fills but doesn’t overflow a pint glass. Now that’s foresight.

The liquid itself is yellow and fizzy. The head is white. Even a few minutes after pouring, it’s still topped by a thick layer of foam. Not bad at all.

Have you ever sniffed a cold glass of any mainstream lager? Then you’ll know what to expect from the smell. An unremarkable blend of malted barley.

What does Starij Melnik Gold taste like? Two easy gulps in prove it to be a perfectly acceptable pilsner style lager. First impressions are that it’s going to be unremarkable, but hard to fault.

At least at fridge temperature, there’s no flavour and virtually no taste whatsoever. Taking a few more gulps to investigate, reveals only the most delicate of lagery tastes. In a very smooth introduction, your tongue will barely notice the savoury, bittersweet finish. I’m struggling to taste anything at all here.

What am I enjoying about Starij Melnik Gold? It is ridiculously easy to drink. There is nothing to deter even the most timid drinker. It’s very clean and refreshing. That means it would probably go well with a hot curry. Just make sure your Starij Melnik Gold is well chilled.

What aren’t I enjoying about Starij Melnik Gold? In the taste department, it’s in the same league as Tesco Value Lager. Even most mainstream lagers manage a hint of hoppiness or a taste of malted barley. This has almost no identifiable taste. The lightness and drinkability come at the cost of making it watery. The quibbles are that the labels aren’t at all clear, it’s expensive and a little gassy.

How can I sum up Starij Melnik Gold? If you want a bottle of water but only have this, then don’t worry. Starij Melnik Gold will do fine. It’ll also go down well with spicy food. If you actually want to taste something however, then buy almost anything else.

Rating: 2.7

Have you tried Starij Melnik Gold? What did you think? Can you translate anything or resolve the mystery surrounding this bottle? Then leave a comment below. Every one of which I read and will bear in mind next time I buy a bottle of Russian beer.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Beer Review: Starij Melnik Gold”

  1. Alex Says:

    >> On the neck label, it translates the name as Starij Melnik Gold. But the
    >> first word, I’m nearly fairly sure, it more like “Smarij”, not “Starij”.
    >> Translators, what is going on here?

    It’s spelled “Starij Melnik Gold” exactly, not “Smarij”.
    May I translate your review for russian beer website pivkarta.ru?

  2. Paul Says:

    Hi,

    In Cyrillic the italic or joined-up handwriting T looks like an M. Hence the Smarij confusion.

  3. RobBeer Says:

    Literal translation into English is Old Miller Light. Not sure what your confusion with the labeling is. The german section say it was manufactured for Monolith Gruppe. The Italian secion stated that it was imported by U(rest of name obsured by the camera flash) and at the end states that it was brewed by Efes Moscow, Russia.

  4. Zana Says:

    I am quite surprised with the evaluation of this beer. When I tried this one, I absolutely hated it. I could not even finish the bottle. However, I am a pilsner hater, you see. I am just surprised that this one got better evaluation than Utenos. I agree is Utenos is not a great one, roughly speaking (some of my friends call it Utenos “pee”, and that is for a reason. I couldn’t agree more), but Staryj Melnik is the beer I will not ever buy again.
    Although I am a bit of patriot when it comes to Lithuanian beer, a big fan of Baltijos and Baltas, so please forgive me being so harsh.
    By the way, if you ever need any help with Russian or Lithuanian translation, I will be happy to help out with any. I have just discovered the blog and I very much like it. So either email me on besionishe at Gmail, or leave a response. Although I will be checking this regularly, I think.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

